The Power of a Song: Bruno Mars’ “Uptown Funk”

Every concert has music blaring out of the speakers before the band goes on, and normally people don’t pay too much attention. But this was different.

I was at a Little Big Town concert recently reviewing it for a blog I write for, and this really catchy and exciting song started playing. I didn’t really take too much notice until I looked around, and saw people dancing to it. Granted, some had probably been filling their bodies with various kinds of alcohol, but this song them feeling good (I’m guessing the alcohol did, too).

It seemed to go on forever, but no one seemed to care. They were too busy being in the moment. And as soon as the song ended something else unexpected happened: everyone clapped and cheered. It’s almost as if they just saw it performed live.

When I got home, I looked it up and found out the song was “Uptown Funk” by Bruno Mars and Mark Ronson. When I wondered how a song like that could turn a room full of country music fans into dancing maniacs I remembered an old song by Tim McGraw called “Things Change” that had a line that said: “Some say it’s too country/Some say it’s too rock ‘n’ roll/But it’s just good music if you can feel it in your soul.”

Trust me, these people felt it DEEP down in their soul.

I guess it’d time to put another concert on my list. Who knows, I may even dance (alcohol, thank you in advance).

Here’s the video for “Uptown Funk”:

One thought on “The Power of a Song: Bruno Mars’ “Uptown Funk””

Leave a Reply

